Candidate Deadlines Pass for Leesburg, Hillsboro Elections 

Candidate Deadlines Pass for Leesburg, Hillsboro Elections 

National elections have garnered much of the attention this year as presidential candidates vie for support. Every seat in the U.S. House of Representatives will be on ballots Nov. 8, but residents in Leesburg and Hillsboro have some things closer to home to ponder.

The deadline for candidates to file bids for expiring seats on their respective town councils passed on June 14.

Candidates who submitted paperwork to run next must satisfy certain requirements to run, which generally means:

  • Be qualified to vote for and hold the office sought,
  • Be a resident of the Commonwealth of Virginia for one year immediately preceding the election.

As of about 2 p.m. June 14, no one had submitted paperwork to the local elections office to run for mayor or council in Hillsboro.

In Leesburg, elections are held every two years, with half of the council members running for each election. Voters will elect the mayor to a four-year term.

Those running for election in Leesburg include:


  • C.B. “Kelly” Burk
  • David S. “Dave” Butler
  • Kevin D. Wright


  • R.E. “Ron” Campbell
  • Thomas S. “Tom” Dunn II
  • Katie Sheldon Hammler
  • John H. Hilton
  • Evan D. Macbeth
  • Gwen H. Pangle
  • Kenneth D. “Ken” Reid