Dream Rocket

Dream Rocket

Forty fourth-grade students from Cardinal Ridge Elementary School are anxiously awaiting for their artwork to be affixed to the skeleton of NASA’s Dream Rocket.

The Cardinal Ridge artwork will join the works of 8,000 other students displayed on NASA’s Dream Rocket, a 385-foot Space Launch System (SLS) rocket replica that promotes NASA’s dream of someday taking humans to Mars, and even beyond.

Art teachers Abby Luckenbaugh and Lane Bolyard took advantage of the opportunity to advocate for the arts when they were approached by Jennifer Marsh of the Dream Rocket Project. Marsh had given the teachers a topic: “Stories of the American Revolution: Traitors or Patriots.”

“The Dream Rocket Project combines science and art,” said Luckenbaugh said. “And as teachers, showing students the potential art has to connect all facets of life is an amazing experience.”

The Cardinal Ridge students focused on the American Revolution, with each student researching a specific individual or an event, illustrating their chosen topic, and attaching a statement explaining their work. Four students fit their works on a 2-foot by 2-foot quilt; 10 quilts from Cardinal Ridge will be wrapped around the rocket.

“So often, students today view art as an isolated experience separate from their other studies,” Bolyard said. “When Jennifer came to us with this idea I saw that it fit perfectly with their curriculum.”

The project combined NASA’s dream of putting humans on Mars with lessons about the American Revolution, “and in the process, helped my students to understand that you can find art in everything you study,” Bolyard said.

The artwork remains on exhibit through Aug. 31 at the Thomas Stone National Historic Site in Port Tobacco, Maryland.

The Cardinal Ridge Elementary School students whose art will appear on the dream rocket include: Alekya Dharmavaram, Mason Taylor, Zoey Murray, Eva Jovel, Catherine Nguyen, Arya Paranganat, Christina Zheng, Hussain Attai, Kierstin Han, Riya Pasupulati, Yolany Segovia, Ella Pisano, Pawanart Songsiriarcha, Emma Welsh, Thy Ngo, Rashad Safir, Emma Quach, Melanie Nguyen, Jenna Byrd, Sebastian Pulise, Nandakishore Sreejith, Emmie Duong, Anna Petty, Leena Fuleihan, Yahsvi Gupta, Sophia Curtin, Kyla Callaham, Zayaan Saleem, Ava Nassiri, Keyra Ogura, Isabella Johnson, Madison Johnson, Seth Alexander, Gretchen Gilligan, Hajna Czita, Justin Walker, Henry Clark, Ananya Enganti, Manya Mahesh and Aashna Patel.