House, Senate Nominations Are At Stake in June 12 Primary Election

House, Senate Nominations Are At Stake in June 12 Primary Election

Registered voters in Loudoun County will have a chance to choose a Republican candidate for the U.S. Senate and Democratic or Republican candidate for Virginia’s 10th District U.S. Representative in the primary election June 12.

Virginia does not acknowledge party affiliation as part of registration. Voters will choose June 12 to vote in the Democratic or Republican primary.

Three Republicans are vying for the party’s nomination to run against incumbent Democratic Sen. Tim Kaine in the Nov. 6 General Election. Those candidates are Corey A. Stewart, Nick J. Freitas and E.W. Jackson.

In the Republican primary for Virginia’s 10th House District, Shak E. Hill is challenging incumbent Barbara J. Comstock.

Six Democrats are on the ballot for the party’s nomination to seek that 10th District seat. Those candidates are Lindsey Davis Stover, Jennifer T. Wexton, Paul E. Pelletier, Alison K. Friedman, Dan I. Helmer and Julia E. Biggins.

Loudoun County schools will be in session June 12, so voters casting ballots at school buildings should be aware of increased traffic and congestion during arrival and dismissal of students. Voters must follow signs and directions to stay in areas designated for voting and away from students.

“We have worked with Loudoun County Public Schools to obtain voting spaces with outside entrances for voters which will limit access to other areas of the school,” General Registrar Judy Brown said. “Wherever this was not possible, staff will monitor the entrance and ensure voters go directly to the voting area and exit after voting.”

Voters are reminded of the following deadlines and regulations:

  • Polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m.
  • The deadline to register has passed.
  • The last day to vote absentee in person is Saturday, June 9.
  • The Office of Elections at 750 Miller Drive S.E., Suite C, in Leesburg, will be open from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. June 9 for absentee voting.
  • Most voters who have not moved will vote at the same location as in the past. They can find that information on the voter cards that were mailed to them after they register or by visiting A few voting locations have changed. Voters affected by those changes were sent new voter cards. The changes are listed below.
  • Voters are required to show an acceptable form of photo identification at their precinct.  Acceptable forms of photo ID include a Virginia DMV-issued driver’s license, a U.S. passport, a student photo ID from a college or university located in Virginia, or a government- issued photo ID. Voters who do not have one of these forms of photo ID are eligible for a free Virginia Voter Photo ID Card. More information is online at

Polling location changes include:

      Precinct 419-J.L. Simpson: A boundary line was adjusted and the precinct was renamed to 422-Sycolin Creek. Voting will take place at Sycolin Creek Elementary School, 21100 Evergreen Mills Road, Leesburg. Some voters closer to the Town of Leesburg were shifted and will be voting in Precinct 408-Evergreen at the Evergreen Mill Elementary School, 491 Evergreen Mill Road S.E., Leesburg.
      Precinct 507-Greenway: Voting location is J.L. Simpson Middle School, 490 Evergreen Mill Road S.E., Leesburg.
      Precinct 503-Dry Mill: Voting location is Loudoun County High School, 415 Dry Mill Road S.W. Leesburg.
      Precinct 506-Brandon Park: Voting location is Douglass Community Center, 405 E. Market Street, Leesburg.
      Precinct 707-Claude Moore Park: Due to the temporary closure of  Claude Moore Recreation and Community Center, voting will take place at the Heritage farm museum. Voters should still enter the park at 46105 Loudoun Park Lane and will be directed to the parking area for the museum. This is a temporary change for the primary election only.
Voters may also look up their polling place and related information online at


For more information, visit

Joseph Dill