LEA Gives Scholarships to Future Teachers

LEA Gives Scholarships to Future Teachers

The Loudoun Education Association (LEA) recently awarded $4,000 in scholarships to future Loudoun teachers, including:

• Elyse Johnson, Stone Bridge
• Zachary Hummel, Broad Run
• Hannah McShea, Loudoun County
• Victoria Webb, Briar Woods

Each future teacher received a $1,000 scholarship that was announced during their school’s senior awards ceremony. LEA raised money for these scholarships through their members and fundraising events. These students were chosen out of about 50 applicants by the LEA Scholarship Committee.

“I have high hopes for those individuals going into the profession,” said Committee Chair, Patricia Lockwood, a technology resource teacher at Sterling Middle School. “Our future students will be in good hands.”

LEA has given scholarship money to future teachers for more than two decades. Winner Hannah McShea, said her professional goal is, “to enable a child to have a bright future and I want to be the person who enables that future to become a possibility.”