Purcellville’s DMV Select Service Restored

Purcellville’s DMV Select Service Restored

LaRock Announces Success of Year Long Effort.

Delegate Dave LaRock (R-33rd) announced that Virginia Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV) Select service is being restored at the Virginia Regional Transit (VRT) location in Purcellville.

Following an FBI raid on VRT’s office last year, DMV was obliged to close the Purcellville Select office. Since then, LaRock has worked with federal, state and local officials to restore service for western Loudoun, and DMV Commissioner Richard Holcomb recently notified him that it will be restored under VRT’s new management by the end of December.

“I am grateful for the assistance of Congresswoman Comstock, Commissioner Holcomb, Senator Richard Black, and Purcellville Mayor Kwasi Fraser as we worked to find a suitable arrangement to re-open DMV service in Western Loudoun,” LaRock said. “DMV also has committed to further service expansion in Loudoun County, to help relieve the overloaded Leesburg full-service customer service center.”

DMV makes most transactions possible online in an attempt to reduce costs and wait times. Western Loudoun residents who need personal service can visit the Purcellville DMV Select or Berryville DMV Select at 6103 Lord Fairfax Highway, Berryville, utilize DMV 2 Go, the agency’s mobile full-service customer service center.  The DMW website includes a map with current wait times for all full-service customer service centers.

This month’s DMV 2 Go schedule in western Loudoun includes Dec. 14 at the Berryville DMV Select, Dec. 20 at the Lovettsville Community Center and Dec. 21 at the Purcellville Town Hall.

LaRock noted that DMV continues to look for ways to enhance its services. This month, the Stephens City Motor Carrier Service Center in Frederick County began to offer TSA Pre® and Transportation Worker Identification Credentials (TWIC). TSA Pre® provides expedited security screening for travelers leaving select airports across the United States, and TWIC provides access to secure areas of the nations maritime facilities.

The 33rd House of Delegates district includes parts of Loudoun, Clarke and Frederick Counties, part of Leesburg, and the towns of Purcellville, Berryville, Lovettsville, Round Hill, Hamilton and Hillsboro.