Sheriff’s Office Welcomes 12 New Deputies

Sheriff’s Office Welcomes 12 New Deputies

The Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office welcomed 12 new deputies following graduation ceremonies from the Northern Virginia Criminal Justice Training Academy (NVCJTA) on Dec 20.

The deputies who completed the seven-month-long the session are Randall Brown, Justin Denton, Bradley Foster, Courtni Green, Jason Keefer, Timothy Kjellman, Tyler Nichols, Peter Pao, Sean Plummer, Gerald Presson, Gregory Thomas and Jonathan Walker.

Plummer received the Directors Award for the Combined Basic Deputy Sheriff School for being first in his class. This award is based on the highest overall score taken from grades on academic exams, firearms training and driver training. Walker took second in the class.

Plummer also received the top overall male Physical Fitness Award for the entire 135th session, of which there were 88 members, LCSO Public Information Officer Aleksandra Kowalski said. Keefer took third place in this award.

Kjellman took third place in Firearms Proficiency, LCSO officials said.

After the ceremony, Sheriff Mike Chapman congratulated the graduates and expressed his pride in their accomplishments.

“I welcome these graduates into the Loudoun Sheriff’s Office and look forward to expanding our fine agency of talented, professional and dedicated personnel,” Chapman said.

The 12 deputies were sworn in prior to attending the academy. Now that they have graduated, they will go through a four month field training program, Kowalski said.

The NVCJTA provides training to agencies such as the Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office, Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority Police, Northern Virginia Community College Police Department, Town of Leesburg Police Department, and other agencies in northern Virginia.